ELI Web Seminar, March 8, 2010 1:00 p.m. ET (12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT); runs one hour

Team-Based Learning: Small Group Learning's Next Big Step

Special Guest

View Archive
Seminar Materials

Larry K. MichaelsenLarry K. Michaelsen
Professor of Management, University of Central Missouri and
David Ross Boyd Distinguished Professor Emeritus, University of Oklahoma
University of Central Missouri

Michaelsen developed Team-Based Learning (TBL) in 1979 as a means of coping with a class size that increased from 40 to 120 students. Since then, he has used TBL with over 7,000 students in more than 1,300 teams in his own classes. In addition, he has presented faculty-development workshops at over 150 conferences and on over 200 campuses in the United States and in 16 foreign countries.

Summary

Malcolm Brown, EDUCAUSE Learning Initiative director, will moderate this web seminar with Larry Michaelsen.

CAUTION: Group assignments can and, all too often, do more harm than good. The most common sign of trouble is when students (especially the better ones) feel like they must choose between doing more than their fair share of the work or risk getting a bad grade. When that happens, the real cause usually isn't the students—it's almost always what the teacher is asking them to do. In addition, even if the end product is a good one, a high percentage of students will leave the experience with negative feelings about the value of group work.

In this session, you will be introduced to an instructional strategy, called Team-Based Learning, that virtually eliminates the most common problems with learning groups and that has been used successfully, with students ranging from middle school through doctoral seminars, in hundreds of disciplines and in classes of up to 400 students.

Additional Resources