EDUCAUSE Live!

The Convergence of Lecture Capture and Social Media

January 26, 2010 1:00 p.m. ET (12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT)

View Event Archives

Joshua Kim
Senior Learning Technologist and Adjunct Professor
Dartmouth College
and ECAR Fellow
EDUCAUSE

Summary

Your host, Steve Worona, will be joined by Joshua Kim, and the topic will be "The Convergence of Lecture Capture and Social Media."

In this EDUCAUSE Live! we will discuss how the formerly separate domains of lecture capture technologies and the emerging options for publicly sharing lectures on Web 2.0 consumer platforms are destined for convergence. This development will raise important questions related to policy, control, and governance. We will discuss how lecture capture and cloud-based consumer publishing platforms are creating a range of opportunities and challenges for academic leaders that will touch on issues of openness, transparency, outreach, and responsibility.

Related EDUCAUSE Resources