ELI Web Seminar, November 9, 2009 1:00 p.m. ET (12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT); runs one hour

Using Electronic Course Portfolios to Support the Scholarship of Teaching

Special Guest

View Archive
Seminar Materials

Bridgett Piernik-YoderBridgett Piernik-Yoder
Assistant Professor
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Bridgett Piernik-Yoder became interested in the development of faculty teaching portfolios when she joined the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio faculty full-time. In exploring faculty development literature, she began to consider how portfolios, specifically electronic course portfolios, could support the scholarship of teaching. Piernik-Yoder has presented on the topic of electronic course portfolios at national and international conferences and was recently awarded a Scholarship of Teaching Grant by the Academic Center for Excellence in Teaching at the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio to support continued work in this area.

Piernik-Yoder is a graduate of the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio with a bachelor of science degree in occupational therapy. Additionally, she holds a master’s in education from the University of Texas at San Antonio, and a PhD in education from Texas A&M University.

Summary

Malcolm Brown, EDUCAUSE Learning Initiative director, will moderate this web seminar with Bridgett Piernik-Yoder. As discourse regarding the evaluation of teaching has evolved, an established definition of the standards of scholarship of teaching has emerged. Adhering to these standards, it becomes imperative to document teaching practices and investigate methods that support the examination and sharing of teaching practices. Whereas the concept of scholarship of teaching has been defined, little information is available regarding specific tools and processes to support scholarship of teaching.

The purpose of this presentation is to illustrate how course portfolios are one effective tool in documenting teaching practices to support reflective technique and invite peer review. The use of an electronic course portfolio as a flexible tool to support scholarship of teaching will be highlighted. Additionally, challenges and benefits of developing electronic course portfolios will be presented, as well as suggestions to facilitate the development process.

Additional Resources