EDUCAUSE Live! August 1, 2008 1:00 p.m. ET (12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT); runs one hour

The Gutenberg-e Project: Opportunities and Challenges in Publishing Born-Digital Monographs

Special Guest

Kate WittenbergView Event Archives Kate Wittenberg
Consultant, Scholarly Communication and E-Publishing
Columbia University

From 1999 until 2008 Kate Wittenberg was Director of the Electronic Publishing Initiative at Columbia (EPIC), where she directed the electronic publications Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO), Columbia Earthscape, the Gutenberg-e online history project, Digital Anthropology Resources for Teaching, and the Core Integration for the National Science Digital Library. Wittenberg’s work focuses on the creation of new models for scholarly communication, sustainable business plans for digital scholarly publishing, collaborative organizational models, and evaluating the use and costs of scholarly and educational digital resources. EPIC develops relationships among scholars, technologists, publishers, librarians, and national and international partners that move beyond the organizational and disciplinary categories within the traditional university infrastructure. Wittenberg writes and speaks frequently on the topics of scholarly communication in the online environment and digital publishing.

Summary

Your host, Steve Worona, will be joined by Kate Wittenberg, and the topic will be "The Gutenberg-e Project: Opportunities and Challenges in Publishing Born-Digital Monographs."

The Gutenberg-e project was created as a bold experiment to explore whether peer-reviewed, born-digital monographs would alter the way historical scholarship is presented, whether scholars would receive the same professional credit for these publications as they would from work published in print, and whether the project would enable the publication of monographs that would otherwise be turned down for financial reasons by university presses. The project has a history that includes both exciting breakthroughs and significant challenges. A number of the authors have created completely new models of collaboration in the scholarly communication process as well as new models of historical scholarship and narrative. We have come to understand that e-books require a significant level of investment in both editorial and technical staff time in order to create publications that reach their full potential as works of digital scholarship. We have also learned that integrating and sustaining this work within a collaborative publishing, library, and technology organization presents significant challenges and great opportunities. Wittenberg will discuss the project’s findings and cover both the breakthroughs and obstacles encountered during the course of the project’s development.

Related EDUCAUSE Resources

Additional Resources