EDUCAUSE Live! November 14, 2007 1:00 p.m. ET (12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT); runs one hour

IT Security Essential Body of Knowledge: A Competency and Functional Framework for IT Security Workforce Development

Special Guest

View Archive

Brenda OldfieldBrenda Oldfield
Director of Education, Training, and Workforce Development, Office of Cyber Security and Communications
National Cyber Security Division, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Brenda Oldfield is responsible for cybersecurity workforce development through training, education, and professional development initiatives. In this capacity, she coordinates DHS partnerships with the National Security Agency for the National Centers of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education program and the NSF for the Federal Cyber Service: Scholarship for Service program.

Oldfield recently led the development of the IT Security Essential Body of Knowledge, which reflects a national skill baseline for IT security professionals. She functions as the work group leader for the role-based, specialized training component of the Federal Information Systems Security Line of Business and is an active member of the CIO Council's IT Workforce Committee. Oldfield was recently appointed to the executive board of the Federal Information Systems Security Educators' Association.

Previously she served in various government agencies as a technical training manager and a technology training manager, as a systems division training manager for a nationwide consulting firm, and as a high school business teacher. Oldfield earned a master’s in instructional design from Marymount University.

Summary

Your host, Steve Worona, will be joined by Brenda Oldfield, and the topic will be "IT Security Essential Body of Knowledge: A Competency and Functional Framework for IT Security Workforce Development."

The Department of Homeland Security's National Cyber Security Division worked with subject matter experts from government, the private sector, and academia to develop an umbrella framework that establishes a national baseline representing the essential knowledge and skills IT security practitioners must have to perform their jobs. The IT Security EBK builds directly on established work and is not intended to represent a standard, directive, or policy by DHS. Instead, it further clarifies key IT security terms and concepts for well-defined competencies, identifies notional security roles, and defines primary functional perspectives to help advance the IT security training and certification landscape as we strive to ensure that we have the most qualified and appropriately trained IT security workforce possible.

Related EDUCAUSE Resources

Additional Resources